Annually, the Board of Directors recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to outstanding service in the municipal field. SUMA is proud to honour individuals for their outstanding contributions to the development and prosperity of our communities and urban governments in Saskatchewan.


The Meritorious Service Award is granted to municipal employees in Saskatchewan urban municipalities who have served 20 years or more of employment. It recognizes their career success, dedication, and involvement in their local community.

Nominations for this award will open in early 2023.

The Honorary Service Award recognizes elected officials in Saskatchewan urban municipalities who have served 20 or more years on municipal council. It recognizes their long-term dedication to, and involvement in, their local communities.

 Nominations for this award will open in early 2023.


The Scoop Lewry Award is presented in recognition of outstanding service in municipal government or administration, on a local, provincial, and national basis. Those eligible to be nominated are elected officials, administrators, SUMA officials, personnel in the Ministry of Government Relations, and personnel in First Nations and Métis Relations. This award is dedicated to the memory of Scoop Lewry. Scoop dedicated his career to improving his community with a kind and humanitarian spirit.


 Nominations for this award will open in early 2023.

The Life Membership Award is presented to an elected official and SUMA Board Member whose career exemplifies commitment and dedication to SUMA, their community, and urban government. This award is nominated by the Convention Planning Committee or SUMA Board of Directors.


 Learn more





Saskatchewan Municipal Awards

The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards (SMA) celebrates the excellent and innovative practices of Saskatchewan’s municipal governments. Nominations are now closed and the 15th Annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards (SMAs) will be presented to urban municipalities at the 2022 SUMA Convention. For more details on the program visit