Nominations now open!

Every year, the SUMA Board of Directors recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to outstanding service in the municipal field. SUMA is proud to honour individuals for their outstanding contributions to the development and prosperity of our communities and urban governments in Saskatchewan. 

The Meritorious Service Award is granted to municipal employees in Saskatchewan urban municipalities who have served 20 years or more of employment. It recognizes their career success, dedication, and involvement in their local community.

The Honorary Service Award is granted to elected officials in Saskatchewan urban municipalities who have served 20 years or more on municipal council. It recognizes their long-term dedication to, and involvement in, their local communities.

The Scoop Lewry Award is presented in recognition of outstanding service in municipal government or administration, on a local, provincial, and national basis. Those eligible to be nominated are elected officials, administrators, SUMA officials, personnel in the Ministry of Government Relations, and personnel in First Nations and Métis Relations. This award is dedicated to the memory of "Scoop" Lewry. Scoop dedicated his career to improving his community with a kind and humanitarian spirit.

The Life Membership Award is presented to an elected official and SUMA Board Member who's career exemplifies commitment and dedication to SUMA, their community, and urban government. This award is nominated by the Convention Planning Committee or SUMA Board of Directors.

The deadline to submit nominations for these awards is Wednesday, October 2, 2019. Please forward complete award nominations to

Attention: The nomination form must be completed electronically. Please right-click each link, and save the document to your computer, before opening and completing each file.

Saskatchewan Municipal Awards 

The next round of Saskatchewan Municipal Awards (SMAs) will also be presented at Convention 2019. Urban and rural municipalities are eligible, so consider what projects in your community show innovation and betterment in any area, such as environment, heritage, recreation, or any other you can think of. Three projects are awarded an SMA, with an additional award for regional cooperation. For more details on the program and how to submit a nomination, visit the SMA website.

 Nominations for the 2019 Saskatchewan Municipal Awards are open until Friday, September 6, 2019.